History of Daytona 500 Winners

Affiliate Notice

The Daytona 500 is an annual NASCAR (National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing) Cup Series race held at the Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida. Here is a brief history of the Daytona 500 winners:

1. 1959: The first-ever Daytona 500 winner was Lee Petty, driving a 1959 Oldsmobile. It was a historic race as Petty won by just a few feet after a photo finish.

2. 1960s: The 1960s saw some legendary drivers winning multiple Daytona 500 titles. Richard Petty won the race seven times during the decade (1964, 1966, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1979, 1981). Others like Junior Johnson (1960), Fred Lorenzen (1965), and Mario Andretti (1967) also secured victories.

3. 1970s: Along with Richard Petty dominating the earlier part of this decade, notable winners included A.J. Foyt (1972), Cale Yarborough (1977, 1983, 1984), and Benny Parsons (1975).

4. 1980s: Richard Petty continued his success into the 1980s, winning the Daytona 500 in 1981. Other noteworthy winners from this decade include Bobby Allison (1982), Bill Elliott (1985, 1987, 2002), and Darrell Waltrip (1989).

5. 1990s: The 1990s was a competitive era for the Daytona 500 with various drivers claiming victory. Notable winners include Dale Earnhardt (1998, 1992, 1996), Sterling Marlin (1994, 1995), and Jeff Gordon (1997).

6. 2000s: As we entered the new millennium, drivers like Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2004), Kevin Harvick (2007), and Jimmie Johnson (2006, 2013) became repeat winners. Michael Waltrip secured his first Daytona 500 win in 2001, which was also the race marred by the tragic death of Dale Earnhardt Sr.

7. 2010s: The 2010s witnessed more repeat winners, including Jamie McMurray (2010), Matt Kenseth (2012), and Denny Hamlin (2016, 2019). Additionally, popular drivers like Trevor Bayne (2011), Joey Logano (2015), and Austin Dillon (2018) also earned victories.

8. Recent Winners: Recent years have seen drivers like Kurt Busch (2017), Austin Cindric (2022), and Ryan Blaney (2023) capturing the Daytona 500 title.

These are just some of the many drivers who have won the prestigious Daytona 500 over the years. The race continues to be highly anticipated by NASCAR fans and remains a significant milestone for drivers in their careers.

Worldwide shipping

Shipping is handled by individual merchant.


See individual merchant return policy.


See individual merchant warranty policy.


Security is handled by the individual merchant.
PayPal / MasterCard / Visa